The Rock Lick Bridge is a crossing over Rock Lick Creek on a former county road near Falls of Rough, Kentucky.
The Rock Lick Bridge, a bowstring through truss 115 feet in length, was constructed circa 1880 by the King Bridge Company of Cleveland, Ohio. The unique truss design, patented in the 1860s by Zenis King, was considered ideal for rural settings as it was lightweight but sturdy. 1
The bridge was located on a through county road between Falls of Rough and Glen Dean. After the abandonment of the Falls of Rough Branch of the Louisville & Nashville Railroad in 1941, the county converted the right-of-way into a county road which offered superior driving conditions between the two communities. The Rock Lick Bridge was regulated for private use.
- Bleiberg, Larry. “Bridge carries history, but traffic’s tougher.” Courier-Journal [Louisville], 29 Jan. 1989, pp. B1-B6.